Twitter is rolling out Unmention feature, here is how it works

Twitter has finally added the Unmention feature, giving people more control over who can tag them on the platform. The company has announced the addition of the new feature via its official Twitter handle. Users will now be able to untag themselves and leave a conversation on the platform. Here’s everything you need to know about this feature and how it works.

The new feature is useful as there are times when people don’t want to get involved in some conversations and they get unnecessary notifications when the tweet in which they are tagged gets a lot of comments, which is pretty annoying. The platform has confirmed that the feature is being rolled out to everyone.

You can easily remove your mention from any tweet. Users need to simply tap on the three-dotted menu, located on the top right corner of any tweet. Here, you will find an option called “Leave this conversation.” You just need to tap on it to untag yourself from a tweet. Do keep in mind that Twitter doesn’t remove your name from that tweet and it will still be visible. One will just stop getting notifications for that particular tweet and no one will be able to visit your profile by clicking on that Tweet where your name is mentioned. In simpler terms, your username will get untagged from tweets.

When you leave a particular conversation, you won’t receive further notifications related to that tweet but you will be able to check out the comments by manually opening the tweet. Additionally, if you opt for the leave conversation feature, then people won’t be able to mention you again in that particular conversation.

The feature is being released to all devices. If you haven’t received it yet, then you should get it in a few days. Twitter is saying that the latest addition will help users remove themselves if they don’t want unnecessary attention.

Besides, the micro-blogging website is also working on a new “Safety mode,” which will reportedly help block trolls appearing in your mentions. A report from CNET asserted that the feature proactively searches for trolls and the Safety mode will help you block them. The feature is currently available in the beta version and is not available in all the regions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Join the Action as ArcheWorld Launches its Alpha Testing Phase

Next Story

iOS 16 public beta released: How to download and install on your iPhone

Latest from TECHNOLOGY